Nasarawa speaker swears in 2 lawmakers

2024-02-12 19:45:48

Blueprint Newspapers Limited

The Speaker, Nasarawa state House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Danladi Jatau, has sworn in two members who won their Febuary 3, 2024 re-run election in their constituencies.

The two sworn-in members were Hon. Mohammed Adamu Omadefu (APC-Keana) and Hon. Musa Ibrahim Abubakar (NNPP-Doma South).

While congratulating the lawmakers, for retaining their seats in Lafia on Monday, the speaker urged them to continue to live above board while discharging their duties, just as he urged them to abide by the oath of office taken.

"We are happy that you have retained your seats to represent your constituencies in this house," he said.

The speaker also called on the people of their constituencies to embrace spirit of sportsmanship by supporting Hon. Omadefu and Hon. Musa to succeed.

He equally called for sustained unity among members for the overall peace and development of the house and the state.

"We sincerely thank God for our unity. In this house, we are one family irrespective of our affiliations.

"Let's continue to work together, live as one family for the overall development of this house and the state at large," he said.

Responding, Hon. Abubakar and Hon. Omadefu appreciated God and their people for returning them to the House.

They also appreciated the speaker for his purposeful leadership and other members for their support and assured the speaker of their support to succeed.

They assured the people of their constituencies of their readiness to continue to provide more dividends of democracy to them.

On November 28, 2023, an Appeal Court sitting in Abuja declared the election of Keana constituency inconclusive thus nullifying the election of Mohammed Adamu Omadefu, the majority leader of Nasarawa State House of Assembly as the Appeal Court on November 29, 2023 also ordered for re-run election in one polling unit of Doma South constituency, declaring the election of Hon. Musa Ibrahim Abubakar inconclusive.

2024-02-12 News